Public Sector Excellence Public Sector Excellence Seal
  organised by
Brand Leadership Academy

SARS, Treasury, ACSA And HSRC Scoop Grand Prix Citizen Awards For Public Sector Excellence; Mrs Albertina Sisulu Honoured With Lifetime Achievement Award For Distinguished Public Service

19 November 2010

Johannesburg, South Africa: The South African Revenue Service (SARS) has scooped the Public Sector Excellence (PSX) Grand Prix Platinum award for the second year as the state owned organisation with the best overall reputation. The award, made by PSX, South Africa’s premier forum for independent public recognition of top performance in the public sector, recognises SARS’s overall excellence in delivering on its public mandate and their citizen centric approach.

The Public Sector Excellence Awards are an independent assessment and celebration of excellence in the public service as voted by its customers, the citizens. The survey, conducted by globally respected public polling research firm, TNS Research Surveys, among a random nationally and demographically representative sample of 1500 was conducted between May and June 2010. The survey gives ordinary South Africans an opportunity to rate the performance of government, its agencies and state owned entities (SOE’s) over the past 12 months.

“The results of the PSX Reputation Index are a clear indication of what people think of the performance of public facing entities, their policies and delivery against their mandate, and are a clear barometer for service delivery excellence,” says Thebe Ikalafeng, founder of the PSX initiative. “What makes the Grand Prix’s unique and prestigious is that they are based not only on the citizen’s feedback, but have been vetted by a respected Advisory Council comprising public and private sector thought leaders, decision makers and academics. In awarding the Grand Prix Public Sector Excellence recognition, the panel filtered the results substantiated with a review of existing qualitative and objective quantitative publicly available data and reports such as annual reports, auditor general reports, media reports, public perception surveys.”

The Department of Health was also honoured with a sought-after PSX Grand Prix Platinum Award in the Campaigns category for its HIV/Aids awareness campaign.

In addition to the Grand Prix Award, SARS also won four other Gold Awards in the categories: Overall Effectiveness, Service Orientation and Sector Brand Leadership, making it the top performer for 2010. Other leading public sector performers, ACSA and the SABC, each walked away with four awards. SAPO scooped a total of three awards.

The Department of Social Development was honoured with five awards in total in the categories Overall Effectiveness and Service Orientation.

In the Leadership & Communication category, the nation voted State President Jacob Zuma as the country’s top leader. Zuma was joined in the Top 10 by Bheki Cele, Helen Zille, Trevor Manuel, Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Aaron Motsoaledi, Sibusiso Ndebele, Kgalema Motlanthe, Tokyo Sexwale and Meshack Radebe.

The honours were bestowed by Minister in the Presidency, Collins Chabane, at the second Public Sector Excellence™ awards ceremony held last night at the Sandton Sun, Johannesburg, which was attended by over 200 people.

Over 200 decision makers across the public and private sector joined the Minister of Monitoring and Performance, Evaluation and Administration, Hon. Mr. Collins Chabane.

PSX Lifetime Achievement Award

The Public Sector Excellence advisory council this year honoured veteran anti-apartheid struggle leader Albertina Sisulu with the inaugural and prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Public Service.

The Public Sector Excellence advisory council comprises Riah Phiyega - Head of Presidential SOE Review Committee, Judge Yvonne Mokgoro - SA Law Reform Commission, Gugu Msibi – Director: Public Sector, Ernest & Young, Tasneem Carrim - Policy and Research, Government Communications and Information System, Neil Higgs – Director: Innovation and Development, TNS Research Surveys, Dr. Ivan May - President of Convocation at Wits University and Thebe Ikalafeng - MD, Brand Leadership Group; Public Sector Excellence™ founder.

Public Sector Excellence Report 2010

In addition, the Public Sector Excellence™ Awards evening also saw the launch of the second annual Public Sector Excellence™ Report – Insights, Thought Leadership and Best Practices in Building Citizen-Orientated, Brand-Driven Public Sector Institutions.

< Back

Public Sector Excellence Report™

PSX Report
Insights, thought leadership, research & best practices. More >